Eighties icons New Order settle in new home at Universal Music Publishing

Eighties icons New Order settle in new home at Universal Music Publishing

New Order (pictured), the legendary 1980s UK pop/punk band, have signed an exclusive global administration deal with Universal Music Publishing (UMP).

The quartet, who were acclaimed Inspiration of the Year at the GQ Awards last year, will have their full catalogue represented by UMP worldwide.

The package features works by the original four members, who comprise guitarist Bernard Sumner, bassist Peter Hook, drummer Stephen Morris and keyboard player Gillian Gilbert; together, they have sold more than 8 million albums.

Their nine studio albums include Power, Corruption And Lies, which was released via the iconic Factory Records in 1983. Their first album to reach the top spot in the UK charts was Technique in 1989, and the Mercury Music Prize-nominated Republic 1993 came out on London Records after Factory Records shut down.

Also on the catalogue are classic tracks like Blue Monday, Regret, Bizarre Love Triangle and True Faith.

New Order was formed in 1980 after the break-up of Joy Division, another awe-inspiring act from the same period, whose catalogue is also with UMP.

Paul Connolly, president of Europe and UK, UMP, says: “We’re privileged to represent the songs of some of the most culturally significant British songwriters ever, like The Clash, Johnny Marr, Paul Weller, The Sex Pistols, Elton John and Bernie Taupin, The Cure, Eurythmics, Elvis Costello and Joy Division. So to be entrusted with a catalogue as important as New Order’s as well is a very special honour.”

The UMP deal comes shortly after the band announced their first brand new studio album in 10 years. It will be via Mute Records but release dates have yet to be confirmed.

Although they brought out a ninth studio album, Lost Sirens, in 2013, the actual recording took place in 2005. The new release will also be their first album since bass player Peter Hook left in 2007, according to UK music title NME. Original keyboard player Gillian Gilbert rejoins the group.

[Juliana Koranteng]